Smoked Paprika Fajitas with Rice and Beans

This was the first recipe I’ve tried out of my new Jamie Oliver’s 15 Minute Meals book. As much as I love the book, I was slightly disappointed to see the brown rice takes 30 minutes to cook, the recipe assumes you’ve made it already!

Chicken Fajitas

A big plate full, and that’s without the peppers and onion! How come whenever you have fajitas you always overload the first one?!

I hardly altered this recipe and so I don’t feel as though I should plaster it all over the internet as I don’t think Jamie would be impressed.

I’m quite happy to tell you what went in it though, and I’m sure you can work out how to make it as it’s really not complicated.

The chicken was simply cooked in smoked paprika giving it a really punchy zingy flavour. The rice was mixed with beans, cumin and coriander. There were some grilled vegetables, red peppers and yellow peppers as well as a lovely spicy salsa. Jamie recommended using a smoked chipotle, but I substituted this for a dried habanero pepper and a touch of smoked paprika. Also in the salsa were spring onions, tomato, coriander, red chilli, lime, balsamic vinegar and soy sauce.

Chicken Fajitas

Food always looks better with Instagram!

Along with all these delicious ingredients, the fajitas were served on toasted wholemeal tortillas, and covered with natural yoghurt, more coriander, lots of feta cheese, and of course a squirt of lime!

It’s really a simple recipe, you could easily prepare the rice and beans in advance, as well as the salsa, and then cook the chicken in about 5 minutes. It’s my favourite phrase, but its true – this recipe is a real winner!

I cooked this just for myself and have lots left over for lunch today! I’d definitely recommended this as party food. It would easily scale up and is a real crowd pleaser. Wash it all down with a lovely corona and lime – the perfect meal?!

Corona

Wash it down with one of these – perfect!

One thought on “Smoked Paprika Fajitas with Rice and Beans

  1. Pingback: Best of the Foodie Blogs: Ten at Ten (41) | Foodies 100

Leave a Reply

