Banana and oat breakfast smoothie

This is a recipe by by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall which he calls a ‘Banana and oat thickie’. I’ve called it a smoothie purely because I don’t think many people will have heard of the term ‘thickie’. I reckon this works out at about 70p a portion.

You can find the recipe here: http://www.channel4.com/4food/recipes/chefs/hugh-fearnley-whittingstall/banana-and-oat-thickie

Banana and oat smoothie ready for the fridge.

The quantities I used were:

  • 6 bananas
  • 500ml natural yoghurt
  • 500ml semi skimmed milk
  • 9 tablespoons of rolled oats

The above ingredients made just over a litre of smoothie (as you’d expect from the quantity of yoghurt and milk). I chose to omit the ice cubes as I will keep mine in the fridge over a week to drink daily so it will stay nice and cool. If you were making this to order, the ice cubes would be a good idea to keep it nice and cool.

Simply put all the ingredients in a large jug and blend – I used my trusty new hand blender.

The result is simple but delicious – I can’t wait until the morning to have a glass! Nothing stopping you having this any other time of day too, but ideal as part of a filling but light and quick breakfast. I’ll probably end up adding cinnamon and/or honey and other things to pimp it up. Looking forward to experimenting with some different flavour ‘thickies’ too.

3 thoughts on “Banana and oat breakfast smoothie

  1. I have been wondering how to make use of a large sack of oats I have…I am not particularly fond of oatmeal. This is great! And it’s so nutritious too. A complete meal in a glass! I am going to make some right away. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

