Spiced Chocolate Loaf

Continuing the spiced theme, I decided to make this spiced chocolate loaf, again from my Green & Blacks ‘Ultimate Chocolate Recipes’ book.

You will need:

  • 50g dark chocolate
  • 100g plain flour
  • 125g icing sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground mixed spice
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 175g unsalted butter
  • 4 eggs
  • 100g dark chocolate or white/milk for decoration.
  1. Take your butter out the fridge so it can get to room temperature.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180C and butter a loaf tin.
  3. Melt the 50g dark chocolate in the microwave until smooth (40 seconds should do) or in a bain-marie. Leave to cool.
  4. Mix the flour, sugar, spices and baking powder in a bowl.
  5. Add the butter, melted chocolate and eggs. Mix well until smooth.
  6. Pour the mixture into your buttered loaf tin and cook for 35 minutes. Test it is ready by inserting a skewer or sharp knife –  if it comes out clean, its ready.
  7. Take the cake out of the tin to cook on a wire rack. Melt your chocolate and decorate as you desire!

You can see in my photo – my cake came out with a nice camel hump. The one in the book was perfectly rectangular with nice curved corners. If anyone can explain why mine came out with a hump, and how I can ensure it comes out level, please let me know via a comment below.

4 thoughts on “Spiced Chocolate Loaf

  1. You had me at spiced chocolate loaf. This looks incredible; I’ll have to give it a try. (After converting the metrics, of course!) Thanks so much for visiting my blog, and signing on as a subscriber. Enjoy!

    —Marci

  2. Hmmmm….I’ve had the hump situation occur when baking cake loaves, too. I’m not so bothered by it, but you might try checking to make sure your baking powder hasn’t expired. I’d also try using a hand whisk to gently blend your dry ingredients, rather than a mixer (if in fact you’re doing so). Perhaps the baking powder is being incorporated too vigorously with the other dry ingredients. Of course, I’m completely guessing! The one to ask is Rose Levy Birnbaum; she has several wonderful books out and takes a most scientific approach to baking. Here’s a link to her website. If you do send her your question, let me know what she says!

    http://www.realbakingwithrose.com/

Leave a Reply

